Washington County Community Services Board

Board Members

  • Chair: Heather Adams-Wendell
  • Vice-Chair: Tammy DeLorme
  • Desiree Boucher
  • Michelle Burke, RN, MS, CHES
  • Linda Michaud
  • Patricia Hunt, RN
  • Claire Bromley

Composition & Function

New York State Mental Hygiene Law sets forth the composition and function of the Community Services Board for each county. Counties are required to have both a Community Services Board and a Director of Community Services in order to be eligible for state aid from the various departments and offices of the state.


The Community Services Board shall have 9 members. At least 1 shall be a licensed physician or a certified psychologist. The members shall represent the community interest in all the problems of the mentally disabled and shall include representatives from community agencies for the mentally ill, the mentally retarded, and developmentally disabled and those suffering from alcoholism and substance abuse.


The Community Services Board is responsible for planning, reviewing, and overseeing all services to the mentally disabled within its geographic area. These functions include:
  • Identify needs
  • Promote and assist in the development of programs
  • Research funding options
  • Access funding
  • Assure compliance to standards established by the state offices that provide certification and funding, as well as any locally developed standards